Saltar para: Post [1], Pesquisa e Arquivos [2]

Folha em Branco

Folha em Branco

Seg | 12.11.18

The Xenon Tech Archives: The Son of Discord

[Este post estará escrito apenas em inglês | This post will be written only in english]

First of all, I must say that this book was sent to me by the author. Still, the review you are about to read is 100% honest like usual.

36644264.jpg

I have read this book a few months ago but the lack of time had me postponing the writing of this review.

Many of you might not have heard of The Xenon Tech Archives or its author, especially here in Portugal, but if you do like a light book of science fiction and you can read in English here's a good option.

This young author set herself quite a challenge with this story. When I first got it on my mail I must admit I was curious but it was after picking it up that I got addicted.

The Son of Discord is the first book of this series. It's small and easy to read, just perfect to bring with you while you commute to work and then home. If at first, you feel "ok this will be a boring read full of clichés" that feeling won't last for more than a few pages. the author might start in a carefully and almost cautious mode but then the story goes by quite fast and there is always a lot happening around our main character.

I did like the attention to detail especially when developing each character. That really helped to set the mood and understanding them better. I would like to see more details on the technology area and maybe this book could be a bit bigger and have more explanations. Still, I do understand the stopping point the author chose. When reading this book one must have in mind it's audience and it's not the heavy bookworms but a younger public.

I am curious to see how the author grows up and develops her writing. There is still a lot to work and to improve especially when writing in this genre. I'll keep an eye on her and I suggest you do the same.

 

This review is also on: Goodreads